Alaska Alcohol Seller-Server

Course Introduction & Description
All servers of alcoholic beverages, their supervisors and persons providing security in licensed businesses must receive approved alcohol server training within thirty days of employment. Each server, supervisor or security person must renew their server training certification every three years. In Alaska licensees and their agents and employees must take an alcohol server training course within 30 days of employment. The course must be reviewed and approved by the ABC Board. The board will not approve a course unless it covers 16 specific areas of Alaska law. Courses approved in other states may have the same title but are not the same as the course taught in Alaska. Benefits of participating in the program include:

  • Protection of the beverage license in the event that a trained employee sells/serves an underage customer without the knowledge, consent, or participation of the owner.
  • Reducing the risk of dram shop lawsuits by effectively training employees.
  • Broadening the hiring base for retail restaurant licensees.
  • Improving the business relationship with local communities by preventing problem situations that can lead to fines and bad press.
  • Making communities safer by refusing sales and service to underage and intoxicated customers

State Resources:

Governing Authority
Alaska alcohol regulations are governed by the Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board

Alaska Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

Main Office: Anchorage
2400 Viking Drive
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone (907) 263-5900
Fax (907) 263-5930
Website: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/abc/BoardLinks/EnforcementUnit.aspx

Fairbanks
1979 Peger Road
Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone (907) 451-2030
Fax (907) 451-5317

Juneau
2760 Sherwood Lane
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone (907) 465-2330
Fax (907) 465-3333

For More Info:

What is the minimum age for sellers/servers of alcoholic beverages?
21 years of age.

Under what circumstances can an underage person be present on licensed premises?
Persons under the age of 21 may not enter or remain on licensed premises unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or spouse over the age of 21 years. Not withstanding this rule licensees may exclude underage persons from licensed premises at any time.

Sec. 04.21.025. Alcohol server education course.

(a) As a condition of issuance or renewal of a license and selling alcoholic beverages under a license, the board shall require a licensee who sells or serves alcoholic beverages and a licensee’s agents and employees who sell or serve alcoholic beverages or check the identification of a patron to complete an alcohol server education course approved by the board, if the license is for a
(1) beverage dispensary;
(2) restaurant or eating place;
(3) club;
(4) package store;
(5) recreational site;
(6) pub;
(7) conditional contractor.

 

(b) The subjects that are included in an approved alcohol server education course shall be determined under regulations adopted by the board. In approving alcohol server education courses, the board shall consider the needs of both urban and rural licensees regarding access to an approved alcohol server education course. A licensee, agent, or employee who sells or serves alcoholic beverages shall keep the card described in “c” of this section or other proof acceptable to the board of successful completion of an approved alcohol server education course on the licensed premises during working hours.

(c) A licensee, agent, or employee shall complete the course required under (a) of this section and pass a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects not more than 30 days after being licensed or employed. The course provider shall issue a card to each individual who completes the course and passes the written test. A card issued under this subsection is valid for three years from the date of issue. A licensee, agent, or employee may renew a card issued under this section; to renew the card, the licensee, agent, or employee must pass a written test demonstrating an understanding of the course subjects.

(d) The board shall review an approved alcohol server education course at least once every three years.

(e) A person licensed as a common carrier dispensary shall train agents and employees who sell or serve alcoholic beverages or who check the identification of a patron on provisions of state law regarding sale of alcoholic beverages, including AS 04.16.015 , 04.16.020, 04.16.030, 04.16.051, 04.16.052, 04.16.120, 04.16.125, AS 04.21.030 , and 04.21.050. The training must include the subjects of the effects of alcohol consumption, identifying a drunken person, determining valid identification, intervention to prevent unlawful alcohol consumption, and penalties for unlawful acts by agents and employees of licensees. A common carrier licensee shall, once every three years, provide the board with a description of its training program including the subjects taught, teaching method, and testing required.

 

Multimedia Resources:

N/A

Course Information
alcohol_server_x150
  • Duration: 3 Hours
  • 24×7 Support: (877) 881-2235 – www.360trainingsupport.com
  • Printable certificate available once you complete and pass the final exam.
  • Valid for 2 years.
  • Alaska Alcohol Seller/Server (AK) On/Off Premise Course – $25.00 – Enroll Here

Enroll Now

Other State Courses
  • Improving Your Tips, Tips on Getting Larger Tips!
  • CraftBeer.com: Beer 101
  • Introduction to Wine