OSHA 10 Hour Construction Training

osha-10hr-trainingDescription: The OSHA Outreach 10 Hour Training Course provides instruction on OSHA regulations and requirements as they apply to 29 CFR 1926 (Construction). This course provides an entry level construction worker with a general awareness to recognizing and preventing hazards on a construction site.

Audience: All Construction Industry Employees: Workers, Foremen, Job Supervisors, Site Inspectors, Workers on publicly-funded projects.

The 10 Hour OSHA course is intended for entry level construction workers while the 30 hour OSHA course is better suited for individuals with some safety responsibility.

OSHA TrainingOSHA Outreach Training 10hr/30hr
The OSHA Outreach online training course is the primary method for instructing construction workers in the basics of occupational safety and health and preparing them for the hazards of accidents and injuries on the jobsite that can be preventable. Training fullfills OSHA standards as required OSHA 29 CFR 1926 – Construction. OSHA Accepted Provider. 10hr only $79 – 30hr $169.

OSHA 10 Construction Training Online

OSHA 10 and 30 hour training courses are also available entirely online. The OSHA 10 Online is available on OSHA 10 Hour Training and may be completed at your own convenience.

Learning Objectives

  • Recognize the aspects of 1926 Subpart C.
  • State the purpose of the OSH Act and list the functions of OSHA.
  • Explain the importance of OSHA in providing a safe and healthful workplace to workers covered by OSHA.
  • List the OSHA inspection priorities and describe the inspection process.

Course Outline

  • Orientation
  • Module 1: Introduction to OSHA and the OSH Act
  • Module 2: General safety and Health Provisions (OSHA 1926 Subpart C)
  • Module 3A: Health Hazards: Hazard Communication (29 CFR 1910.1200)
  • Module 3B: Health Hazards: Hazardous Materials (OSHA 1926 Subpart D)
  • Module 4: Cranes and Rigging (OSHA 1926 Subpart CC)
  • Module 5: Focus Four: Electrical Safety (OSHA 1926 Subpart K)
  • Module 6: Struck-By and Caught in Between
  • Module 7: Fall Protection (OSHA 1926 Subpart M)
  • Module 8: Personal Protective Equipment (OSHA 1926 Subpart E)
  • Module 9: Hand and Power Tools (OSHA 1926 Subpart I)
  • Module 10: Scaffolds (OSHA 1926 Subpart L)
  • Module 11: Stairways and Ladders (OSHA 1926 Subpart X)
  • Final Exam

Connecticut OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Connecticut State law, General Statutes – Section 31‐53b requires OSHA 10hr safety awareness training for construction workers and supervisors:

  • All employees who perform work on any public building project paid for in whole or part by state funding, or any of its agencies, where the total cost is over $100,000. This law went into effect in 2007.
  • Each contractor needs to furnish proof that all employees have taken the OSHA 10 hour Construction Course within 30 days of being awarded the contract. Employees who have not completed the course are subject to removal from the worksite.
  • The OSHA 10 hour Construction Course must also be retaken every 5 years.

Connecticut Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
Reference: Connecticut General Statutes – Section 31‐53b – Construction Safety

Florida OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Miami-Dade County, Florida, the County Code of Ordinances 2-11.17 requires OSHA 10hr safety training for construction workers and supervisors in Miami-Dade County Construction Contracts:

  • Required for all construction employees on any Miami-Dade County public or private contract valued in excess of $1,000,000.
  • § 2-11.17 (2) (a) County Construction Contracts means:
    (i) a County contract valued in excess of $1,000,000 for the construction, demolition, alteration and/or repair of public buildings or public works, or
    (ii) a contract or lease valued in excess of $1,000,000 which provides for privately funded construction, demolition, alteration or repair of buildings or improvements located on County-owned land.
  • The OSHA 10 hour Construction Course must also be retaken every 5 years.

Miami-Dade County, Florida, Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
References:

Massachusetts OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Massachusetts State law, at least an OSHA 10 hour Construction Course is required for all public sector projects and construction sites state wide:

  • All employees to be employed at a worksite needs to complete the OSHA 10 hour construction course before beginning work on the worksite. The law went into effect in 2004.
  • Any employee found on a worksite subject to this section without documentation of successful completion of the OSHA 10 hour course shall be subject to immediate removal.
  • The Massachusetts law specifically says “at least 10 hours” – so an OSHA 30 hour construction course would also enable the worker to meet these requirements.
  • It is also the employer’s responsibility to make sure all their employees have their certification card and turn in proof to the contracting agency before the job starts. The employer can be fined for allowing an employee onsite who does not have a valid OSHA 10 hour certification card.
  • The OSHA 10 hour Construction Course must also be retaken every 5 years.

Massachusetts Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
Reference: Massachusetts General Laws – Chapter 30: Section 39S

Missouri OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Missouri State law, OSHA 10hr safety awareness training is required for construction workers and supervisors on all public sector projects and construction sites state-wide:

Missouri Construction Safety Training Act – Section 292.675.1 requires all contractors and subcontractors who enter into contracts with public bodies for construction of public works to train their on-site employees regarding the potential hazards they may encounter. The law went into effect in 2009.

Any employee found on a work site subject to this section without documentation of the successful completion of an OSHA 10 Hour course shall be afforded 20 days to produce such documentation before being subject to removal from the project.

It is also the employer’s responsibility to make sure all their employees have their certification card and turn in proof to the contracting agency before the job starts. The employer can be fined for allowing an employee onsite who does not have a valid OSHA 10 hour certification card.

Missouri Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
References:

Nevada OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Nevada State law, Assembly Bill No. 148 requires health and safety training for construction workers and supervisors:

  • All construction workers in the state to undergo a 10-hour safety training course (OSHA-10) developed by the U.S. Labor Department’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) at least once every five years. The training must be completed no more than 15 days of being hired.
  • All supervisors on a construction site to undergo a 30-hour safety training course (OSHA-30) approved by OSHA at least once every five years. The training must be completed no more than 15 days of being hired.
  • If an employee or supervisor does not gain 10 or 30-hour certification, then their employment must be terminated or suspended. Employers who fail to terminate or suspend employees are subject to administrative fines and penalties.

Nevada Required Training – 10hr/30hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
Reference: Nevada Assembly Bill No. 148 (PDF)

New Hampshire OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to New Hampshire State law, OSHA 10hr safety awareness training is required for construction workers and supervisors state-wide:

  • Any person who signs a contract to work on a construction, reconstruction, alteration, remodeling, installation, demolition, maintenance, or repair of any public work or building by a state agency or municipality with a total project cost of $100,000 or more. The law went into effect in 2007.
  • Employees who fail to obtain their OSHA 10 Hour Card after 15 days of starting work, will be removed from the jobsite.
  • Employers can face penalties up to $2,500 and a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.

New Hampshire Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
References: Title XXIII: Labor – Chapter 227 Safety and Health of Employees – 277:5-a Occupational Safety and Health Administration Certification;
New Hampshire Department of Labor – Safety

New York OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

Both New York State law and New York City code require OSHA Outreach 10 hour cards for employees and 30 hour DOL cards for supervisors on most public construction job sites. Our OSHA Outreach Training courses are accepted throughout New York and NYC.

  • New York State Labor Laws Chapter 282 – Labor Law §220-h took effect on July 2008.
    All public works contracts for New York state and municipal construction jobs of $250,000 or more require certification that all employees performing work under the contract will have successfully completed an OSHA 10-hour construction course.
  • New York City OSHA LawsNYC Int. 790-A of Local Law 48 of 2008 requires all construction workers to complete an OSHA Outreach 10 hour course within the previous 5 calendar years.
  • New York City OSHA Laws also requires all site supervisors complete an OSHA Outreach 30 hour training course.
  • Renewal: Once you have completed OSHA 10 training for work on Article 8 public work projects, New York State does not require renewal. However, New York City does require renewal of the training every 5 years.

It is also the employer’s responsibility to make sure all their employees have their certification card and turn in proof to the contracting agency before the job starts. The employer can be fined for allowing an employee onsite who does not have a valid OSHA 10 hour certification card.

New York Required Training – 10hr/30hr OSHA Outreach – Construction

Reference: New York State – Department of Labor – OSHA 10 Information

Pennsylvania OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania City Code (effective Sept. 2015) requires OSHA 10hr and 30hr safety awareness training for construction workers and supervisors:

  • All workers directly performing construction or demolition activities for which permits have been issued are required to complete OSHA 10 safety training or an approved equivalent. (Philadelphia Code, Title 4, Subcode A, Section A – 1001.4). This requirement applies to all employees of licensed contractors (including plumbing, electrical, fire – suppression and warm – air contractors) AND State – registered Home Improvement Contractors. Workers will be required to furnish proof of required safety training to Department of Licenses and Inspections officials upon request.
  • All contractors licensed under Section 9 – 1004 of the Philadelphia Code must employ at least one supervisory employee who has completed OSHA 30 safety training,or approved equivalent, within the past 5 years. (Philadelphia Code, Section 9 – 1004(4)(c.1)). Licensed plumbing, electrical, fire suppression, and warm – air contractors are not required to employ an OSHA 30 supervisory employee. Identification of a supervisory employee and proof of training will be required for all new Contractor License applications made after September 30, 2015 and for the renewal of all Contractor Licenses set to expire on or after March 31, 2016.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Required Training – 10hr/30hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
References:
City of Philadelphia OSHA Safety Training Requirements (PDF);
City of Philadelphia License and Inspections – Safety Training Info Sheet (PDF)

Rhode Island OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to Rhode Island General State laws, Chapter 37-23-1 requires OSHA 10hr safety awareness training for construction workers and supervisors:

  • All workers who perform work on municipal and state construction projects with a total project cost of one $100,000 of more to OSHA10-hour certification. Workers are also to carry the card on their person at all times while work is actually being performed.
  • Any employee required to complete the OSHA 10-hour construction safety program who has not completed the program will be subject to removal from the worksite, if the employee does not provide documentation of having completed such program by the 15th day after the date the employee is found to be in noncompliance.
  • The state may also assess a civil penalty of up to $2,500; in addition, such an employer shall be assessed a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.

Rhode Island Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
Reference: Rhode Island General Laws – Title 37. Public Property and Works – §37-23-1 Safety awareness program required. (PDF)

West Virginia OSHA 10-hour & 30-hour Training Requirements

According to West Virginia State code, §21-3-22. OSHA construction safety program – requires OSHA 10hr safety awareness training for construction workers and supervisors:

  • All workers who perform work on a public project costing more than $50,000 or more, requires each employee onsite to have their OSHA 10 hour certification card.
  • Any employee required to complete the OSHA 10-hour construction safety program who has not completed the program will be subject to removal from the worksite, if the employee does not provide documentation of having completed such program by the 21st day after the date the employee is found to be in noncompliance.
  • The state may also assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000; in addition, such an employer shall be assessed a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.

West Virginia Required Training – 10hr OSHA Outreach – Construction
Reference: West Virginia Code – Chapter 21 Labor – Article 3. Safety and Welfare of Employees – §21-3-22. OSHA construction safety program.