Texas TABC Alcohol Seller-Server

TABC Certification – Course Introduction & Description – $10.99
Since Sep 1, 2000, anyone in Texas who sells, serves or delivers alcoholic beverages including persons who immediately manage, direct, supervise or control the sale or service of alcoholic beverages must be TABC Certified in order for the business to continue to receive “Safe Harbor” from fines and penalties related to employees actions.

TABC Certification – Texas Alcohol State License – TABC Approved Provider #454-508

  • No more 6 hour time restriction.
  • State-wide approved.
  • New engaging interactive videos.
  • No more waiting for the certificate in the mail. Print your certificate of completion immediately after course completion.
  • Your completion will be reported to TABC within 14 business days of completion.
  • State licensed and powered by Learn2Serve (#454-508).
  • Note: By clicking Enroll, you will be redirected to the Learn2Serve website. As the provider of this course, Learn2Serve will ask for personally identifiable information required by TABC and necessary to complete the course. Clicking Enroll Now will not charge you any fees; however you can refuse to be transferred to this website by choosing not to click Enroll.

TABC Certification – Recommended
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission strongly feels that trained sellers, servers, and managers are better able to identify and prevent sales of alcoholic beverages to minors, intoxicated persons, and non-members of a private club. Because of this belief, the agency has certified courses for seller/server training. These courses are provided by certified private businesses or retailers for their own employees whose curriculum has been reviewed and approved by the TABC and whose trainers are also certified. These courses cover the laws applicable to the sales or service of alcoholic beverages to minors, intoxicated persons, and non-members of a private club. The courses also teach techniques to identify these persons and prevent sales to them. Individuals who successfully complete an approved program are issued certificates and licensees or permittees could, under certain terms, receive a restrained administrative case.

Texas Food Handler & TABC Certification Package (Courses Included) Special: $16.99

  • Learn2Serve: TABC Seller-Server Training
  • Texas Food Handler Training Course

State Resources:

Governing Authority
Texas TABC alcohol regulations are governed by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC)
5806 Mesa Dr.
P.O. Box 13127
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-3127
Phone: 512/206-3333
Website: http://www.tabc.state.tx.us/

For More Info:

TABC Certification – Updated Curriculum

Beginning in 2011, the TABC Seller-Server Certification course has been updated with a TABC mandated curriculum.

  • Module 1: TABC Seller-Server Training Overview
    Administrative information about seller-server certification.
  • Module 2: Minors and Alcohol Sales
    Preventing illegal alcohol sales to minors.
  • Module 3: Intoxicated People and Alcohol Sales
    Preventing illegal alcohol sales to people that are intoxicated.
  • Module 4: Other Permits
    Types of permits, including private clubs.
  • Course Summary and Review

TABC Certification – Course Description
This course provides you with the necessary knowledge and techniques you need to be a responsible seller-server of alcohol. Specifically, you will learn the laws regulating sale or service of alcoholic beverages to minors, intoxicated persons, and non-members of a private club; how to protect yourself and your establishment from liability; how alcohol affects your customers; how to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers; how to prevent customers from becoming intoxicated; how to intervene when you need to refuse a sale to someone; how to accurately check IDs and recognize minors; how to prevent second-party sales; and how to refuse a sale.

TABC Certification – Learning Objectives

  • Define terms used in this course
  • Describe the purpose, goals, and rules for seller-server 24×7 Certification
  • Identify the seller-server’s role in the enhancement of public safety
  • Check IDs accurately, and recognize clues for when an individual is using a fake ID
  • Use observations to detect that a minor is attempting to purchase alcohol.
  • Recognize second-party sales
  • Describe how seller-servers are responsible for the acts of their customers (Dram Shop Act)
  • Recognize intoxicated individuals
  • Define blood alcohol concentration and how it is calculated
  • List factors that affect BAC in individuals
  • Describe the effects of mixing alcohol with other drugs
  • Refuse a sale to someone with little conflict
  • Discuss the seller-server’s responsibilities and obligations under the Texas law concerned with preventing alcohol sales to minors, intoxicated persons, and non-members of a private club

TABC Alcohol Certification Course – Benefits to Seller-Servers
What will be gained by a Seller-Server from a TABC Certification course? General course work is designed to teach Texas law that will directly affect them as an alcohol server or seller. They learn that they are personally responsible and may be held liable if they sell or serve to minors or an intoxicated or impaired person. Topics include the following:

  • Alcohol Awareness and Laws
  • Responsible Alcohol Service
  • Detection/Intervention Techniques
  • ID Checking Skills
  • Detection of Minors
  • Calculation of BAC

TABC Alcohol Certification Course – Benefits to Owners-Retailers
As an employer, what are the advantages of requiring all of my employees to be seller trained? The laws concerning the sale and service to minors and intoxicated customers are covered in the training, as well as techniques for intervention to ensure that sales are not made to minors or intoxicated customers.

Additionally, the TABC will not take administrative action against a license/permit when an employee sells or serves an alcoholic beverage to a minor or intoxicated customer, as long as:

  • the person selling is not the owner or an officer of the licensee or permittee;
  • the person selling holds a current seller training certification;
  • all employees engaged in the sale, service, or delivery of alcoholic beverages, as well as their immediate managers, are currently certified;
  • the licensee/permittee posts policies for Responsible Alcohol Service and ensures that each employee understands these policies;
  • the licensee/permittee does not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate the law; and there are not more than two of these type violations within a twelve month period.

This relief is commonly referred to as “safe harbor.” If an illegal sale is made, the seller/server will most probably be arrested, but the retailer’s permit/license will have protection from administrative action by the TABC.

Click here to review Section 106.14 (a) of the TABC Code

Click here to review relevant sections of the Administrative Rules

TABC Certification – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

How do I find out if I am TABC certified? How long is TABC seller training certification valid?
You can verify the certification status of any employee at the Employee Inquiry screen. You will need your name and social security number. Also, the Seller Training certification is valid for two years from the date it is issued. If you are unsure of the date you were certified, you may look it up on the inquiry screen located at https://www.tabc.state.tx.us/liccom/seller/default.htm.

Are there additional requirements to becoming TABC certified? Can I be TABC certified if I have had a DWI or other felony conviction? Can I become TABC certified if I am under 18?
There are no additional requirements to become certified. There is no minimum age requirement to attend a seller training course, and there are no requirements regarding criminal history. However, your age or criminal history may prevent an employer from hiring you.

If I have been through the TABC seller training once, do I have to go again every two years? Or is there a test I can take to become TABC re-certified? Is there a different (shorter) course to take for re-certification?
To maintain certification you must attend the full seller training course every two years. There is no way to “test out” of the class, and there is not a different, shorter re-certification class.

I lost my TABC seller training certification card. How can I obtain another copy?
You can print a verification sheet that will contain the issue date, expiration date, certificate number, staus, name and date of birth for an individual from our website at https://www.tabc.state.tx.us/liccom/seller/default.htm. Enter the social security number and date of birth in the format requested under employee inquiry.

Multimedia Resources:

YouTube – TABC channel – http://www.youtube.com/user/tabcchannel

“It’s Your Duty” — Texas has the second most active duty military personnel in the United States. For many retailers this provides a moral dilemma. They have underage service men and women that come into their establishments trying to purchase alcohol, they are old enough to go to war, but can’t buy alcohol. What is a retailer to do? This PSA targets those retailers and informs them on the consequences of selling alcohol to minors, even military minors.

 

 

Course Information
alcohol_server_x150TABC Certification - Alcohol Seller Server On-Off Premise Training CourseTABC Certification Approved
  • State Approved: This course is approved by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. TABC Approved Provider #454-508.
  • Duration: 2 Hours
  • 24×7 Support: (877) 881-2235 – www.360trainingsupport.com
  • Printable certificate available once you complete and pass the final exam.
  • Valid for 2 years.
  • TABC Certification – Learn2Serve Alcohol Seller-Server Training (Texas) – $10.99
  • Aprender a servir: Capacitación de TABC para vendedores-camareros – $10.99

Enroll Now

  • Note: By clicking Enroll, you will be redirected to the Learn2Serve website.  As the provider of this course, Learn2Serve will ask for personally identifiable information required by TABC and necessary to complete the course. Clicking Enroll Now will not charge you any fees; however you can refuse to be transferred to this website by choosing not to click Enroll.
Other State Courses
  • Texas Food Handler + TABC Certification Package – $25.00 – Special: $16.99
  • Learn2Serve: Capacitación de TABC para vendedores/ camareros + Curso de capacitación para manipuladores de alimentos de Texas – Special: $16.99
  • Texas Food Handler Training Course – $7.00

Leave a Reply